Cogeneration · Integral PWR

NuScale VOYGR

The first SMR with an NRC-certified design, and also the first to cancel its flagship project.

A 250 MWt, 77 MWe integral PWR module; the US460 approval covers a six-module plant (1,500 MWt/462 MWe). The NRC issued a Standard Design Approval in May 2025: it is not the US600 design certification for twelve 50 MWe modules.

Integral PWR
Technical identity · Integral PWR
Stated output
250 MWt · 77 MWe net/gross basis not stated · per module
Maturity
Detailed design
Developer
NuScale Power
Origin
United States
01

Energy and applications

Published magnitudes; this is not an engineering diagram.

Thermal output250 MWt
Electrical output77 MWe net/gross basis not stated
Stated uses
  • Electricity
  • District heating
  • Process heat
  • Desalination
02

Three different states

Maturity, licensing and deployment are not equivalent.

01

Maturity

Detailed design

How far the published engineering has progressed.

02

Licensing and review

1 regulatory reading

What a regulator decided, where and on what date.

03

Linked deployment

0 geolocated units

Which projects or units are linked to the design.

03

Linked deployment

No geolocated nuclear unit is linked to this design.

04

Licensing and review

What a regulator decided, where and on what date.

JurisdictionReadingMethodDate
United StatesStandard design approvedStandard Design Approval for the 250 MWt/77 MWe module in a six-module US460 plant; distinct from the US600 certification rule2025-05-29
05

Technical sources

How it works and why it matters

The NuScale module is a 77 MWe integral PWR submerged in a pool, with natural circulation and no pumps. A VOYGR plant groups four to twelve modules. It was the first SMR to obtain NRC design certification, in 2023 for 50 MWe and in 2025 for 77 MWe.

Its first project, six modules in Idaho for a Utah cooperative, was canceled in November 2023 after costs rose above US$9,000 per kW. It now seeks customers among data centers and in Romania, where a plant at Doicești is under study.

Quick facts

Power77 MWe per module, 4 to 12 modules
Typeintegral PWR in a pool
NRC certification2023 and 2025
Status 2026no construction; Utah project canceled in 2023