Cogeneration · Modular high-temperature gas-cooled reactor

Xe-100

X-energy's pebble bed, 80 MWe per module, with Dow and Amazon as first customers.

Helium-cooled pebble-bed HTGR. The Long Mott application describes modules at approximately 200 MWt and 80 MWe, with four modules per plant; ARIS 2024 reports 82.5 MWe for the basic design. The Long Mott review is a site construction permit, not a generic design certification.

Modular high-temperature gas-cooled reactor
Technical identity · Modular high-temperature gas-cooled reactor
Stated output
200 MWt · 80 MWe net/gross basis not stated · per unit
Maturity
Basic design
Developer
X Energy, LLC
Origin
United States
01

Energy and applications

Published magnitudes; this is not an engineering diagram.

Thermal output200 MWt
Electrical output80 MWe net/gross basis not stated
Stated uses
  • Electricity
  • Process heat
  • Desalination
02

Three different states

Maturity, licensing and deployment are not equivalent.

01

Maturity

Basic design

How far the published engineering has progressed.

02

Licensing and review

1 regulatory reading

What a regulator decided, where and on what date.

03

Linked deployment

0 geolocated units

Which projects or units are linked to the design.

03

Linked deployment

No geolocated nuclear unit is linked to this design.

04

Licensing and review

What a regulator decided, where and on what date.

JurisdictionReadingMethodDate
United StatesUnder review10 CFR Part 50 construction permit application for the four-module Long Mott site; not a design certification2026-08-31
05

Technical sources

How it works and why it matters

The Xe-100 is a 200 MWt, 80 MWe pebble-bed reactor per module, conceived for four-module plants. Its first project is a Dow chemical complex at Seadrift, Texas, and in 2024 Amazon announced an investment for up to 5 GW of this technology.

It is under NRC licensing; the construction permit application for Seadrift was filed in 2025. Its TRISO fuel will be made at the company's own plant in Oak Ridge.

Quick facts

Power80 MWe per module
Status 2026licensing
CustomersDow, Amazon, Energy Northwest